Welcome to Holme Upon Spalding Moor Primary School

  Glossary of Education terms added (see below) - Latest news from Friends now on their page - June HT newsletter below - new Maths and Literacy plan (school data) - New Headteacher announcement - see Governor page of web site.   

Welcome to Holme upon Spalding Moor Primary School. 

     

Our aim is to provide the best education possible.  We want your child to use literacy and numeracy skills with confidence, understanding and enjoyment.  We will encourage your child to find out as much as possible about the world in which we live and to enjoy a wide range of activities, games, art, music and information and communications technology.  

    

We hope all the children will learn to live happily together; understanding and respecting each other and themselves.  Your support will be greatly appreciated in this important aspect of your child’s life. 

     

We have provision for 3 and 4 year old children for up to 15 hours a week in our Foundation Stage 1 (Nursery). Please contact the school for more information.

     

Our aim is to create an exciting and caring atmosphere where a child feels confident, secure and valued as an individual.  Most importantly, we hope that everyone will work together – you, the staff and our Governors, so that the children will enjoy coming to Holme On Spalding Moor School and that we will indeed provide the best education for your child.

              

 Logo Competition

Click on the picture to see how well everyone did ... 

Sustainability Day 2014

In March we had a special theme day - click on the picture to see what we did ... 

School Tour

We invite you to take a tour of our school that has been prepared by the children. To do so, please click on the picture below

 

And below is a village tour

Click on the picture below to go to our History page

         

 

        

 

 

Useful School Information

Whilst we endeavour to keep the information on this web site up to date and accurate, we cannot accept any liability for mistakes and if something is important please make sure you contact the school directly. This website does not use cookies.

       Summer Term School Diary                    

Fri 17th April

Y3/4 swimming starts

Mon 27th April

Y5/6 Borrowdale Visit - meeting for parents 6 p.m.

Tues 28th April

Foundation Stage 2 and Y6 – heights and weights measurements - NHS

Mon 4th May

May Day Holiday

Mon 11th May

SATS week - Y6 and Y2

Wed 13th May

Y4 Whitby Residential Visit (to Friday)

Fri 15th May

Friends’ Discos: FS2/KS1 - 5 - 6.30 p.m. and K.S.2 - 6.45 - 8.15 p.m.

Mon 18th May

Y5/6 Borrowdale Residential Visit (to Friday)

Tues 19th May

FS/KS1 Golf Day

Wed 20th May

Headteacher Interviews

Thurs 21st May

Headteacher Interviews

Fri 22nd May

KS2 Golf Day

Mon 25th – Fri 29th May

Half Term holiday

Fri 12th June

Staff Training Day – school closed to children

Tues 16th June

KS2 Bootcamp (P.E. activity)

Wed 17th June

Y5 Farm Visit 

Thurs 18th June

Class and Group Photos

Mon 22nd June

New Foundation Stage 2 children lunch visits

Mon 22nd June

Market Weighton School Choir visiting

Tues 23rd June

Y6 Induction Day - The Market Weighton School  

Tues 23rd June

New Foundation Stage 2 children lunch visits

Wed 24th June

Skateboarding Day

Thurs 25th June

Y5 and Y5 to Hagges Wood, Escrick (Science project)

Fri 26th June

Mrs Archer and Mrs Winstanley’s classes to Yorkshire Wildlife Park

Mon 29th June

Y6 Buswise training

Tues 30th June

Mrs Leviit/Johnson and Mrs Rush’s classes to Streetlife Museum, Hull

Tues 30th June

Woldgate CollegeY6 Creative Arts Day

Wed 1st July

Y6 Parents Induction Evening – The Market Weighton School

Thurs  2nd July

Friends Infant Disco 5 – 6.30 p.m.

Fri 3rd July

Y5 and Y6  - Sound investigations around the village (Science project)

Fri 3rd July

Annual Reports to parents

Mon 6th July

Woldgate College Y6 Transition Day (Provisional),  

Mon 6th July

Foundation Stage 1 (Nursery) Sports 10 a.m. and 2 p.m.      

Tues 7th  July

Foundation Stage 2 Sports at 2 p.m (Mrs Archer and Mrs Winstanley's Reception children).

Wed 8th  July

Optional Parents’ Evening to 5.30 p.m.

Wed 8th  July

Brass and String pupils' concert at 5.00 p.m.

Thurs 9th July

Y5 and Y6 to York University (Science project)

Thurs 9th July

Key Stage 1 Sports 2 p.m (Mrs Winstanley's, Mrs Levitt/ Mrs Johnson, Mrs Rush's Year 1 and 2 children).

Fri 10th  July

Key Stage 2 Sports 1.45 p.m (Miss Ripley, Mr Fisher, Mrs Youd, Miss Woodall, and Mr Smith YEar 3,4,5,6 children).   

Wed 15th July

Y5 and Y6—Science Project presentations 1.30 p.m

Wed 15th July

Friends Leavers’ Disco 6.30 p.m to 8.30 p.m..

Fri 17th July

Last assembly 10 a.m. (Y6 parents welcome) 

Fri 17th July

FS1 Teddy Bear Picnic a.m.  

Fri 17th July

Close for summer holidays

Tues 8th Sept.

School opens for children

Thurs 10th Sept.

Foundation Stage 1 opens for children (8th and 9th are home visit days for new children)

   

Please note the following Residential visits: 

Whitby        (Y3/4) 13th-15th  May 2015

Borrowdale (Y5/6) 18th-22nd May 2015

Holme Upon Spalding Moor Primary School is a Community School

Headteacher: Mr Mark Alston   Assistant Headteacher: Mr Mike Smith

We can be contacted as follows:  Tel: 01430 860287  Fax: 01430 427815  EMail: hosm@eastriding.gov.uk

Address: High Street, Holme on Spalding Moor, East Riding of Yorkshire  YO43 4HL

Mon 2nd July

Friends Infant Disco 5 – 6.30 p.m.

Fri 3rd July

Annual Reports to parents

Mon 6th July

Woldgate College Y6 Transition Day (Provisional),

Foundation Stage 1 (Nursery) Sports 10 a.m. and 2 p.m.

Tues 7th  July

Foundation Stage 2 (Reception) Sports 2 p.m.

Wed 8th  July

Optional Parents’ Evening to 5.30 p.m. (Brass and string pupils’ concert)

Thurs 9th July

Key Stage 1 Sports 2 p.m.

Fri 10th  July

Key Stage 2 Sports 1.45 p.m.

Wed 15th July

Friends Leavers’ Disco 6 p.m.

Fri 17th July

Last assembly 10 a.m. (Y6 parents welcome)

FS1 Teddy Bear Picnic a.m.

Close for summer holidays

Tues 8th Sept.

School opens for children

Thursday 10th September